T27: Universities for Carbon Neutrality

(Online Open Session)

Date: Friday, 19 August 2022

Time: 13:30 –15:30 (ICT/GMT+7) | 07:30 – 9:30 (BST) | 08:30 – 10:30 (CEST) | 15:30 – 17:30 (JST)

Venue (hybrid):

This session is going to be opened freely to the all of the academics and university staff related carbon neutral universities in whole world.

Introduction

This thematic session is to share university’s experiences on implementing sustainability strategy and actions for carbon neutrality, and to form a network of universities for carbon neutrality.

Many universities have a considerable amount of material about the approach towards sustainability. Some universities have been working toward carbon neutrality, build resilience and get staffs and students involved in creating climate solutions. The session would be ‘mutual learning’ platform, where representatives from as many universities as possible, from as senior a level as possible, present their plans and the difficulties they are experiencing. This session is hoped to lead to form a group ‘Universities for Carbon Neutrality’ to exchange experiences on an ongoing basis.

Chairs: Paul Ekins (University College London, UK) & Trinh Tu Anh (University of Economics Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam)

Panelists:

  • Paul Ekins (University College London, UK)
  • Trinh Tu Anh (University of Economics Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam)
  • Ken-Ichi Akao (Waseda University, Japan)
  • Budy Resosudarmo (Australian National University, Australia)

How to join online?

This session will be online via Zoom. You can join from PC, Mac, iOS or Android: https://vuw.zoom.us/j/94231476642?pwd=WTZHUnJ0Rk93STBaVzVQVTRkcmV0QT09

Meeting ID: 942 3147 6642

Password: 22373

We kindly invite you to this open session and look forward to having interesting and constructive discussions.